Kedarnath Agarwal

Kedarnath Agarwal


Kedarnath Agarwal
Kedarnath Agarwal

Kedarnath Agarwal was born on April 1, 1911 to Hanuman Prasad Gupta and his wife Ghasiti Devi. He was born in the village of Kamasin in Banda district in the Bundelkhand region of the present-day Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. He acquired the B.A. and L.L.B. degrees, and became a practising advocate in Banda in 1938.

His first love was Hindi literature, and he contributed much to that field. He was a member of the Pragatisheel Lekhak Sangh, a body inspired by the leftist Progressive Writers’ Movement. His writings have been translated into English, German, and Russian.

Agarwal was also involved in several educational and literary bodies. He served as president of the Arya Kanya Intermediate College for many years. He was associated with the Vinoba Bhave College located in Kamasin village, his birthplace. He also served for one year as president of the local Bar Association in Banda.

Agarwal was married to Parvati Devi. The couple were the parents of two daughters and a son. Agarwal died on June 22, 2000.

Some of his famous books are as follows.

  • Yug Ki Ganga
  • Neend Ke Badal
  • Lok Aur Alok
  • Phool nahin Rang Bolte Hain
  • Aag Ka Aayeena
  • Bambay ka Raktasnan
  • Gulmehndi
  • Pankh aur Patwar
  • Mar Pyar ki Thapein
  • He Meri Tum
  • Kahein Kedar Khari Khari
  • Apoorva
  • Vah Chidiya Jo
  • Jamun Jal Tumzsadasdsadsad
  • Bole Bol Amol
  • Jo Shilayein Todte Hain
  • Aatma Gandh
  • Anhari Haryali
  • Khuli Aankhein Khuli Daine
  • Pushpadeep

Just follow the links to read all the poems by Kedarnath Agarwal

All poems of Kedarnath Agarwal in Hindi