Ramdhari Singh Dinkar

Ramdhari Singh Dinkar

Ramdhari Singh Dinkar
Ramdhari Singh Dinkar

Ramdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’ (23 September 1908 – 24 April 1974) was an Indian Hindi poet, essayist, patriot and academic, who is considered as one of the most important modern Hindi poets. He emerged as a poet of rebellion as a consequence of his nationalist poetry written in the days before Indian independence. His poetry exuded veer rasa, and he has been hailed as a Rashtrakavi (“National poet”) on account of his inspiring patriotic compositions.

Dinkar initially supported the revolutionary movement during the Indian independence struggle, but later became a Gandhian. However, he used to call himself a ‘Bad Gandhian’ because he supported the feelings of indignation and revenge among the youth. In Kurukshetra, he accepted that war is destructive but argued that it is necessary for the protection of freedom. He was close to prominent nationalists of the time such as Rajendra Prasad, Anugrah Narayan Sinha, Sri Krishna Sinha, Rambriksh Benipuri and Braj Kishore Prasad.

Dinkar was elected three times to the Rajya Sabha, and he was the member of this house from 3 April 1952 CE to 26 January 1964 CE, and was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 1959. He was also the Vice-Chancellor of Bhagalpur University (Bhagalpur, Bihar) in the early 1960s.

His famous poetries are as follows

  • Pranbhang (1929)
  • Renuka (1935)
  • Hunkar (epic poem) (1938)
  • Rasavanti (1939)
  • Dvandvageet (1940)
  • Kurukshetra (1946)
  • Dhoop Chhah (1946)
  • Saamdheni (1947)
  • Baapu (1947)
  • Itihas ke Aansoo (1951)
  • Dhup aur Dhuan (1951)
  • Mirch ka Mazaa (1951)
  • Rashmirathi (1952)
  • Dilli (1954)
  • Neem ke Patte (1954)
  • Suraj ka Byaah (‘1955’)
  • Neel Kusum (1954)
  • Chakravaal (1956)
  • Kavishri (1957)
  • Seepee aur Shankh (1957)
  • Naye Subhaashit (1957)
  • Ramdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’
  • Urvashi (1961)
  • Parashuram ki Pratiksha (1963)
  • Koylaa aur Kavitva (1964)
  • Mritti Tilak (1964)
  • Atmaa ki Ankhe (1964)
  • Haare ko Harinaam (1970)
  • Bhagvaan Ke Daakiye(1970)

Just follow the links to read all the poems by Ramdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’

All poems of Ramdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’ in Hindi